• Bruntwood Prize 2017 announces shortlist

    For the first time in its eleven year history, the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting has announced its shortlist  prior to the winning scripts being announced at an award ceremony hosted by BBC news presenter Naga Munchetty on the 13 November at the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester.

    The ten shortlisted scripts were selected from 1,898 original plays that were submitted to the Prize this year. Each playwright enters their play under a pseudonym, creating an equal opportunity for writers of any background and experience to enter. The final ten are then judged and debated by a prestigious panel of top industry figures.

    The biennial Prize is a partnership between the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester and family-owned property company, Bruntwood and highlights the importance of new writing for theatre and the value of nurturing playwrights and their craft. The total prize fund is £40,000 and each of the winners will enter into a development process with the Royal Exchange Theatre.

    The 2017 Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting Shortlist:

    • Alan McKendrick – Oh Graveyard, You Can’t Hold Me Always (read under the title of The Gothic Castle of Capitalism to protect his anonymity)
    • Archie Maddocks – A Place For We
    • Daniel Foxsmith – Pumpjack
    • Joshua Val Martin – This Is Not America
    • Kevin Doyle – when after all it was you and me (or – the genocide play)
    • Laurie Nunn – King Brown
    • Rebecca Callard – A Bit Of Light
    • Sharon Clark – Plow (read under the title of Over the Hill There’s Something Better to protect her anonymity)
    • Tim Foley – Electric Rosary
    • Timothy X Atack – Heartworm

    Categories: Theatres, Writing

    Leave a Reply