• The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting 2019

    The prize is a key part of Bruntwood’s continuing commitment to support the country’s most exciting and innovative creative talent.

    It offers the opportunity for writers of any background and experience to enter unperformed plays which are submitted anonymously and judged by a panel of leading theatre industry experts.

    And with a prize fund totalling £40,000 across four categories including two new £8000 prizes for a debut play and international voices, it remains the biggest playwriting prize in Europe.

    Since the biennial competition, which is run in collaboration with the Royal Exchange Theatre in Manchester, was launched in 2005 it has awarded more than £250,000 in prize money to 28 writers.

    Twenty-four winning productions have been staged in venues across the UK and abroad including Vivianne Franzmann’s Mogadishu, So Here We Are by actor and writer Luke Norris, and Anna Jordan’s Yen.

    The closing date for the 2019 competition is 6pm on Wednesday 5th June and the Prize will be awarded at a ceremony at the Royal Exchange on Monday 4th November.

    The judging panel features some of the most high-profile names in British theatre including Kwame Kwei-Armah, artistic director of the Young Vic, who will chair the panel; Sarah Frankcom, artistic director of the Royal Exchange Theatre; playwright and former winner Anna Jordan, and Graeae Theatre Company artistic director Jenny Sealey MBE

    Entry details

    Categories: Theatres, Writing

    Leave a Reply